Steeped in history, Moulton is recorded in the Domesday book from as early as 1086 when William the Conqueror first commissioned it. The village is situated 3.5 miles from Newmarket – the historic home of flat horse racing and lies just beyond Warren Hill – the most famous racing gallops in the world.
By the end of the 18th Century, the Duke of Rutland owned 45 cottages in the village as well as most of the agricultural land. The Shepherd & Dog Beer House opened in 1841 (opposite the Church), followed closely by The Plough – which was destroyed by fire and re-built as The Kings Head, now The Packhorse Inn in 1891.
The Chestnut Group (then newly formed) acquired The Kings Head from Greene King in February 2012. An estimated twenty landlords had run the pub in the twenty-five years leading up to the purchase by Chestnut. The pub was purchased with plenty of vision and absolutely no experience.
Following extensive planning applications, a lot of hard work and a little bit of crazy-minded determination, The Packhorse Inn opened in October 2013.
The building has been sympathetically designed to incorporate the main bar, four distinct dining areas, a private room to accommodate up to 36 diners and eight en-suite bedrooms. The Packhorse Inn is open seven days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The seasonal menu is inspired by local stories from suppliers.